These Are the Winners from the Oscars of the Watch Industry

The secret is in CW’s business model: Founded in 2004, it merged with manufacturing partner Synergies Horlogères (SH) in 2014 — this, in turn, allowed the brand to vertically integrate its manufacturing while keeping pricing accessible. Johannes Janke, previously an engineer and technical director at SH, began developing add-on modules for existing third-party movements that could turn simple, time-only watches into more complicated fare. Master watchmaker Frank Stelzer was then able to build upon one of these modules to realize a chiming watch — though the journey took several years of development. It quickly sold out upon its debut, flooring longtime industry professionals with its pricing. Thankfully, CW has since expanded the C1 Bel Canto into a full collection, with numerous references available on its website.

For a complete list of the winners, see below:

Aiguille d’Or” Grand Prix: Audemars Piguet, Code 11.59 by Audemars Piguet

Ultra-Complication Universelle RD#4

Innovation Prize: Hautlence, Sphere Series 1

Audacity Prize: Maison Alcée, Persée Azur

Chronometry Prize: Ferdinand Berthoud, Chronomètre FB 3SPC

“Horological Revelation” Prize: Simon Brette, Chronomètre Artisans

Ladies’ Watch Prize: Piaget, Hidden Treasures

Ladies’ Complication Watch Prize: Dior Montres, Grand Soir Automate Etoile de Monsieur Dior

Men’s Complication Watch Prize: Voutilainen, World Timer

Iconic Watch Prize: Ulysse Nardin, Freak One

Tourbillon Watch Prize: Laurent Ferrier, Grand Sport Tourbillon Pursuit

Calendar and Astronomy Watch Prize: Bovet 1822, Récital 20 Astérium

Chronograph Watch Prize: Petermann Bédat, Chronographe rattrapante

Sports Watch Prize: Tudor, Pelagos 39

Jewellery Watch Prize: Bulgari, Serpenti Cleopatra

Artistic Crafts Watch Prize: Piaget, Altiplano Métiers d’Art – Undulata

“Petite Aiguille” Prize: Christopher Ward London, C1 Bel Canto

Challenge Watch Prize: Raymond Weil, Millésime automatic small seconds

Mechanical Clock Prize: L’Epée 1839, Time Fast II Chrome

Special Jury Prize: Svend Andersen and Vincent Calabrese

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top